Single Saturday: rager teenager! – Troye Sivan

LISTEN HERE:

https://open.spotify.com/track/33ahLbU9N6qXlpbJfX6Ys8?si=LyP9lu2ARfGufgeOVM13yw

Troye Sivan may look young, but he's basically a veteran in the alternative pop scene. He started out by participating in singing competitions in his hometown of Perth, Australia. He also had a popular YouTube channel at the height of my teenage fandom on the platform, around 2013. His first EP came out the summer of 2014, and he's been making interesting, catchy alt pop tunes ever since.

This single is off his latest EP, In A Dream, released just last month. I hadn't listened to him in a while, but when I saw him in my new releases on Spotify, I remembered how much I've loved his songs in the past, so I had to listen. The whole EP is great, but I feel like this song really encapsulates the vibes of the release.

The musical dynamics shift from a sweeping pre-chorus buildup to a chorus that drops out from under you. The lyrics reminisce on Troye's time of being a crazy teenager, going out all night and living life to the fullest. He almost speaks to his younger self from the perspective of the present:

Hey, my lil' rager teenager, I've missed you around, yeah

Missed you around

Hey you, where you been hanging out lately?

Sleeping and spending nights wasting time

Never thought I'd see you again in my life

Why you been acting like a stranger?

Thanks for reading!