Single Saturday: Eyes Closed – Mozi

LISTEN HERE:

https://open.spotify.com/track/266QYNatmTZUAinceKv4z4?si=kiXbNil7Rpi3HS0POvhCQw

Today's new single comes from the lovely, ethereal musician Mozi. My review of her eight-track EP, Human, is still one of my favorite reviews I've ever written, and I still enjoy putting that record on and listening to the sweet, dreamy tunes. I'm so excited to have new music from her, and I already know this one is going to become a favorite.

The lyrics deal with the apprehension and fear of following your big dreams – in this case, pursuing songwriting and music as a career. “These dreams cannot pay the bills” is an all too familiar sentiment echoed in this song. However, the texture and feel of the song feels overwhelmingly like a dream, with harps, synths, and harmonies filling the space. It's a simple yet powerful song, with a vulnerable message.

Thanks for reading!