Monthly Mixtape, Throwback Edition: October 2017

We've FINALLY reached the month that inspired me to start this series in the first place. I come back to this specific playlist so much, because the minute any song from this month comes on, I'm immediately transported back in time to the exact feelings and days surrounding me listening to these songs.

I was listening to these tunes on my drives back and forth to my very first weeks of class at community college, half and hour from my parent's house. Hearing any of these songs makes me distinctly remember feeling the chilly fall air, wearing sweatpants to class almost every day (just because I could!), and taking many different back ways to avoid traffic from downtown and take in the scenic routes.

I felt like a totally new person after leaving high school – I was independent, I could come and go to class as I pleased, I was getting involved in different groups and activities, and I was making new friends, all outside of my formerly tiny high school bubble. There were so many new emotions and experiences to be had, and these songs were my soundtrack in a big way.

Obsession – Vice feat. Jon Bellion

https://open.spotify.com/track/5pvVAwQbuFoR7LkcicrKnk?si=cF_Qw6kVQVaRSFWbnDugvg

I had just begun my journey into Jon Bellion's discography, and when I realized that this catchy tune that played over the speakers at my job at Ulta Beauty was by him, of course I had to listen to it over and over.

Let Me Go – Hailee Steinfeld, Alesso, Florida Georgia Line

https://open.spotify.com/track/5Gu0PDLN4YJeW75PpBSg9p?si=OfmlQO7SSOSPRkjDL4zBYw

This was a staple on my playlist this month, just one of those super catchy, top 40 pop hits that got stuck in my head.

Woke The F*ck Up – Jon Bellion

https://open.spotify.com/track/1zTW7xRtxmprjTUDi6bAHg?si=EBsbM8vqRPGgs6lKLBeXwA

Yet another song from the man himself. His music is just so incredible because it's creative and unexpected, in term of lyrics, production, and musical style. His vocals are amazing, his beats are hard, and this is just one of his many bangers.

Daddy Issues – Demi Lovato

https://open.spotify.com/track/2XPgaQh0cw1wR3js5dKI4M?si=A3cP4mSaSgS94a3GoHzSSw

Alright, alright, a little bit scandalous, but I was blasting Demi's latest album so much in the car, for some girl power and some intense vocals that I pretended to be able to sing along with.

If It Isn't You – Cimorelli

https://open.spotify.com/track/40myB18xJPB59cKQMJVmIk?si=k9UswfMSRDqMQNKNAFIMuQ

This was the first single leading up to the girls' third full-length album, Sad Girls Club, and oh MAN was I excited. I remember seeing that the song had been uploaded to their YouTube channel while I was sitting at school between classes, and I immediately put in my headphones and heard it as soon as it was on the Internet. It's a great, somewhat comical pop song about pining over a guy you never really got over, and how no matter what, you can't stop going back to them and thinking about them.

It's a very specific emotion, knowing that you're still into someone and holding out hope, even when you're trying to like someone else. I had just had a guy ask me out for the first time in my life, and as much as I tried to like him, I just couldn't listen to cute love songs and have them be about him. This song was hitting too close to home:

Do you think about me? Do you miss the nights when we would hang out and just drive around? Do you think about it now?

I ask all my friends about you , and it hurts a little when they say you're happy, 'cause a part of me still wishes you smiled because of me

I'd come back to you, back to you

You know it's only you, only you

I don't want nobody if it isn't you

The “you” in question, of course, was Peter- my now-boyfriend, but at the time, he was just a friend, and I was always wishing that the guy I was going on dates with would be him instead. Obviously, I got my wish eventually, but there was definitely some MAJOR teenage pining going on while I waited for him to come around. :)

Milk – The 1975

https://open.spotify.com/track/0fzqnqxwSh5Bmq8sY9tFb9?si=xOHncwWQTTmMgjUVFP91cA

This is one of many B-side, lesser-known tracks by The 1975, and I remember listening to this all through the fall and winter months, so it reminds me of even that Christmas time of 2017.

Honey – Kehlani

https://open.spotify.com/track/5QTdOvIF2ehBMZpSIIGzIo?si=2AAF53aAQpSnANFd4c5MjA

This song is just lovely as an acoustic ballad, and stellar vocals as usual from Kehlani- and, well, the lyrics speak for themselves.

Dancing On My Own – (Robyn Cover) Cimorelli

https://open.spotify.com/track/0jR5DKx3fcF25NaycJbDxR?si=kyvrTi0fRw6dLw72f0M4Ug

This was absolutely a defining song of this month – I'm not exaggerating when I say I listened to it at least two or three times A DAY. This is a purely acapella cover that just blew me out of the water with the vocal talent showcased here. The harmonies, the high notes, the angst and emotion behind the song, all LEGENDARY.

Galaxy – Dani Cimorelli

https://open.spotify.com/track/7MDaPd7tGd3Gu2sV3Wq922?si=16oePqTnSuyIrIodiKoU1w

This song was very closely connected to that boy situation I mentioned earlier, and it also gives me very vivid flashbacks to the moments I had listening to it. It's a pretty, dreamy song about loving someone like they're your entire galaxy.

I had it on in the car on a pitch-dark, rainy night, driving to a Halloween party, and the guy from before had just messaged me and formally asked me on a date that next week. I distinctly remember listening to this song and thinking, “if I'm going out with this guy, shouldn't I be thinking about him when this song plays? And not Peter?” Yep, I was hooked on him like that already. Now, it's a nice thought to listen to this song and be thinking about the same blue eyes that I was back then:

Blue , the color of your eyes and all I see

When I look up at the skies I think of you , driving me in your car , it's been so long

You said “don't wait up for me, baby,” but you know I'll wait forever

Nobody else makes me crazy , you know there's no one better

Before October's Gone – Cimorelli

https://open.spotify.com/track/2SyIScNy0qAkOlPEgzNjNi?si=rGeRJ1Z7Rtyx8hxo2EwMKw

And finally, I know, I know, tons of Cimorelli, but hey, this one is tradition to listen to at the end of October each year, as you can see from the title. It's one of their best-written songs for sure, and it so accurately describes the feeling of a crush slowly slipping away, not talking as much, and seeing them move on without you. A perfectly melancholy, gloomy fall weather kind of song.

Thanks for reading!