misc. – September 2020

I have plenty of recurring series on my blog – single reviews every Saturday, monthly playlists (both current and throwbacks!), and recaps of what's happened each month, both in my own life and on my page. But something I'd really enjoy doing going forward is a catch-all kind of monthly post – miscellaneous, if you will.

There's so much that I discover each month that I want to talk about or recommend to readers, from any and every category – TV shows, movies, musical artists, hair/skin/beauty products, clothing, recipes, restaurants, shops, websites, services, small businesses, you name it!

Community (TV Show)

This our current entertainment of choice; I'm only at the end of Season 1 and I'm already hooked! Any show with Dan Harmon and the Russo brothers at the top of the production credits is destined to be a home run, and this is no exception.

It's charming, funny, weird, and filled with ridiculous characters played by talented actors. The episodes are an easy-to-digest 22 minutes, six seasons, and there's 25 episodes a season, so this is going to last me a long time.

I just love all the actors and their unique characters, all put into an unlikely buddy scenario as the misfit group at a community college. And finally, I'll admit it, I just have a giant girl crush on Alison Brie, so it's just a great watch all around.

Watch on Netflix or Hulu

Kevin.Murphy Shimmer.Shine Spray (Hair Product)

I bought this bad boy at my last hair appointment months ago, and oh MAN was it worth the hefty price tag. It's a smoothing spray to tone down frizz, and it gives you that very specific, fresh-from-the-salon feel and smell. Not to mention that it has actual shimmer in the formula that you get to shake up every time you use it!

SHIMMER.SHINE, $34

Human – Mozi EP

I'm revisiting this EP that I discovered way back in January, when I saw Mozi play a show with my good friends, The Timbre of Cedar. It's chilled out and sweet, and it's perfect for the more calm autumn vibes I want out of my music now.

I reviewed this EP in full a while back, and it's still one of my favorite reviews I've ever written! Read it here!

Simple Modern Travel Mug

I just got this 16 ounce tumbler for my hot coffee, now that it's feeling like fall weather in the mornings here in Michigan, and I'm really digging it. The top seals perfectly, so no leaks, and it keeps your drink really hot for a really long time.

Buy on Amazon

So. Many. Planner. Stickers. (Book)

In case you didn't know, I'm a pretty big planner nerd, and these fun little stickers just make scheduling my life that much more fun! There are colorful stickers for almost any category or occasion, like bills due, cleaning, grocery shopping, parties, or just cute little reminders to drink water or take care of yourself.

Buy at Urban Outfitters

Glossier Hoodie

I love Glossier for their skincare products, but this time when I ordered refills, I splurged on a new hoodie for the upcoming cold months... and when I tell you this is WORTH IT, it IS. It's incredibly high-quality, thick, and fleecy on the inside – definitely the most warm sweatshirt I've got, so when the temps take a nosedive, I know I'll be comfy in this. Plus, this blush pink is my favorite color, and this is probably the tenth clothing item I have in that color, so it's very on-brand for me.

Buy on glossier.com

Karity Cosmetics Picante Palette

As we go into fall, I realized it's time to break out the best fall palette out there (in my humble opinion). These eyeshadows perfectly blend all the best fall tones into one palette, with yellows, oranges, reds, and purples. I always love picking this up to do my eyes, and I always get a fun look out of it, no matter what color scheme I go with.

Buy on karity.com

ZipRecruiter.com

And finally... a job search site! I always thought Indeed was the only option for digging through job postings, but this site has quickly become my favorite by far.

Once you complete your profile with all of your experience and qualifications, as well as uploading your resume or any other important documents, you can literally apply to jobs with one click, and your entire resume and profile is submitted. They also notify you when the company opens and reviews your applications, so it eliminates some of that feeling of being left hanging and never knowing what your status is.

Thanks for reading!